Reform Torte – revolutionary chocolate layered cake

I choose to make this cake when I was invited to my friend’s surprise birthday party. My friend whose birthday I was invited to is intolerant to gluten. I searched the web and various cookery books to find some delicious gluten free recipe and to be honest all the recipes seems to be very dry and not that appealing. Then I remembered that my grandma and my mum often make this cake which does not have any flour in it.  It is very soft and moist and extra chocolaty!

Usually my grandma and my mum makes this cake on Christmas or Easter – it is a celebratory cake. The name itself says it all!

Ingredients:

Base:

  • 10 eggs whites
  • 8 tbsp sugar
  • 250 gr ground walnuts

Filling:

Preparation:

Mix egg whites , slowly add sugar and mix it on a higher point to create stiff peaks.  Add a pinch of salt which  helps to make high peak. Once it is whisked to a  highest peak, fold in ground walnuts.

Prepare round tin, put grease proof baking parchment on the bottom.  Divide the batter  into 4 parts. Bake each one of them on 180 C for 20 minutes. Once it is done, transfer it to the rack to cool.

In order to make filling, place egg yolks, sugar and chocolate in a pan and slowly cook it on a steam in another bigger pan in which you previously add some water. Once it is quite tick, leave it to cool. Once it is cool, add butter.

Place one layer of walnut sponge on a serving tray and spread on a layer of  filling. Repeat until all 4 layers are stacked on top of each other. Frost the top and sides of the torte with the remaining chocolate filling.

I also melted some chocolate and glazed the whole torte. And then its when my creativity came to light as you can see from the photo below.

Reform torte

Reform torte

337

One thought on “Reform Torte – revolutionary chocolate layered cake

Leave a Reply

