Let’s bring the summer – Pina Colada Cake

I recently joined a baking local club and the theme for the next meeting is Tropicana. I was thinking of all sorts of fruit cakes I could make, but wanted to add something special and made it into a cocktail cake. I do love cocktails but thinking of mojito or caipirinha cake did not excite me much. However the ingredients that I absolutely love is rum and coconut so I though to create a  a Pina Colada cake. Somehow pineapple and coconut works magic and with a splash of rum flouring this is the perfect combination.

Ingredients:

Base:

  • 6 eggs
  • 160 gr caster sugar
  • 60 gr coconut
  • 180 gr flour
  • 1 can of pineapple
  • rum flavoring

Filling:

Preparation:

Mix eggs and sugar and then add flour and coconut. Prepare round tin, put grease proof baking parchment on the bottom.   Bake on 180 C for 30 minutes. Once it is done, transfer it to the rack to cool. When it is cool, carefully horizontally half the based into two. Drain the pineapple from the can, and keep the juice. I have mix the juice with some rum flouring and then quite generously splash on the cake basis.

Mix the double cream, add sugar, coconut and curd. Before putting it on the cake, I left it in the fridge for about 20 min. Place pineapple on the first base and cover it with 2/3 of the filling. Place another base and cover the whole cake with the filling. I have decorated it using the left pineapple pieces and some coconut flakes.

Camden-20130518-00518 Camden-20130518-00522

Leave a Reply

