When I fall in love

This cake is my take on the world famous Tiramisu cake. As I don’t like coffee very much I decided to use almond infused coffee and add a splash of rum instead. I also used toasted hazelnuts to add crunchiness to this moist and creamy refreshing cake. The typical mascarpone cream filling is enhanced with the taste of caramelised Dulche de leche. I didn’t want to call it another Tiramisu cake as it deserves its own unique name. When I fall in love is a cake dedicated to the things I absolutely love: roasted hazelnuts and Dulche de leche.

Ingredients:

Sponge

  • 7 eggs
  • 240gr caster sugar
  • 140gr sifted plain flour
  • 5gr baking powder (I used one sachet)

Filling

  • 120gr cream cheese
  • 25gr icing sugar
  • 250gr dulche de leche
  • 500gr mascarpone cheese
  • 200gr whipping cream
  • 150gr roasted hazelnuts
  • 3/4 cup coffee
  • 100ml rum
  • Two packs of lady fingers biscuits

2015-02-21 15.42.34 2015-02-22 09.44.30

Preparation: 

Cake – Heat the oven to 180C. Prepare 10′ round baking pan, greased with the parchment paper on the bottom.

Mix eggs and sugar using a high speed on your hand mixer. When the butter is light and creamy, slowly add sifted flour and the baking powder. Mix it on a low speed until all combined. Pour it into a baking pan and bake it for 35 – 40 minutes on 180C. Once it is done, leave it to cool before you take it out of the baking tin.

Dulche de leche – You all know my obsession with this delicious and sweet South American invention. I used to buy can of Dulche de Leche in the local store, either Waitrose or Wholefoods but this time I could not find it anywhere. I checked Tescos, Planet Organic and even Sainsbury as some other bloggers suggested but no luck. Therefore I decided to make it my own. You can find many recipes online how to make it your own and the one I decided to go for is the oven baked version. It was so easy to make it and I am forever great to Bakers Royale recipe. In 90 min and no effort you can get this delicious and creamy caramel sauce which worked extremely well in my cake.

Filling – Beat the cream cheese with Dulche de leche in the large mixing bowl. Add mascarpone cheese and beat no more than 1 minute, just until all combined. In a separate bowl prepare whipping cream and once it is done, combine with the cheese mixture.

As a not crazy coffee lover, I used Amaretto coffee (almond infused coffee) which I mixed with rum. If you do love coffee taste you can use regular coffee instead.

Cut the cake vertically into two parts. Heavily brush the bottom cake with the cake and rum mixture. Spread some cream filling and cover it with the crushed roasted hazelnuts. Brush the other half of cake sponge with the coffee – rum mixture and place it on top of the bottom layer. Add cream filling on the top and sides of the cake and decorate it with the roasted hazelnuts. I dipped lady fingers biscuits into a coffee mixture and place them around the cake.

2015-02-21 15.32.01 2015-02-21 18.33.20 2015-02-22 10.00.09 (1) 2015-02-22 10.08.25  2015-02-22 10.33.09

2015-02-22 10.55.55  2015-02-22 10.32.55

2015-02-22 10.55.20

Cake was in the fridge for 24 hours before I served it.

Enjoy Miss Jx

One thought on “When I fall in love

Leave a Reply

